What’s a Crumpet?

In England, they call chips crisps, fries chips, and cookies biscuits. They spell many words differently than Americans do such as tyres, defence, colour, centre, and programme. They say aluminium (five syllables), and I say aluminum. A stove top is called a hob. I asked if the word hob stood for something, like Hot Oven Burners. I was looked at strangely, and frankly told, “It’s just called a hob.” Okay then, moving on…

They also don’t have many actual intersections on their roadways.  They have roundabouts instead.  Speaking of roads, theirs are WAY too skinny.  Why do they not make the roads wide enough for two cars?  Driving is like going through a gauntlet, very nerve racking, which is why I haven’t driven here yet.  I witnessed my first incident of road rage here when a trucker yelled out his window, “Fu**ing wanker!”  British charm at its finest. They have cool traffic lights that go from red to yellow to green, then from green to yellow to red.  You get a warning that it’s about time to stop and one that it’s about time to go.  Instead of Yield signs, theirs say Give Way.

My favorite sign so far is one I saw in London that said Good Behaviour Zone. (Note the spelling of behavior. I love all these little differences.)  A crumpet looks just like an English muffin, only a little thicker.
Monday night we board a ferry to Belgium to begin the tour!
Published in: on February 12, 2011 at 7:00 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jdjaws.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/whats-a-crumpet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are going there just ahead of my daughter and her niece (my granddaughter.) They are starting in Paris, going to Brussels and ending in Amsterdam. Maybe you’ll cross paths!

  2. I too, love all those little differences in the spelling of words—And I always figured we screwed up the language, not England….lol! Sounds like you are enjoying getting to know all about Britain….What Fun! Have a “crumpet” for me, my dear.

  3. I bet you are having a ball just looking for all the differences there. I hope you are taking lots of pictures. It’s almost time for the tour to start ….AWESOME… Keep us updated.

  4. Lol- I’d be totally lost!

    I know you’re all having a wonderful time,JD! It ‘s fun reading your updates!!

    Junie

  5. Cheers!

  6. Don’t you just love hearing them talk though? When my friend visited me fron England I learned some of those things. They also call the school crossing guard, The Lollipop Lady! I guess she gives out lollipops. A babysitter is a childminder! I like that word!!

    Enjoy!!! What fun you are having! Wish I were there!!!

  7. Sounds like fun, JD. I’ve always wanted to have tea and strumpets.

  8. My son was five (and almost as clever as your Taylor) when he learned girls in Britain were called “birds”. He ask me if nuns in England were called “Birds of PRAY”. I loved it so much I sent it in to Readers Digest but never heard from them. Why doesn’t everyone know how wonderful our children are?

  9. Well at least you will be ready for Australia when you get here most of the things you wrote of are the same here as in England.
    A crumpet btw is something that always falls buttered side down when dropped.

  10. Thank you, my dear so very very muchg, for your kind and loving words—this is a really difficult time for all of us here….I thank you for with all my heart for your understand, dear Jamie…!

  11. Just do me a favor JD. Get em straightened out before you leave. No use letting them be slackers. or wackers.


Leave a Reply

